Proposition 206 passed in Arizona and that means A.R.S. § 23-363 and § 23-364 are in effect as of January 1, 2017. These statutes increase the minimum wage and create a requirement that all employers provide a sick leave benefit for their employees.
The Arizona Minimum Wage is increased to $10 per hour as of January 1, 2017. There will be annual increases as follows:
January 1, 2018: $10.50
January 1, 2019: $11.00
January 1, 2020: $12.00
After 2020 there will be annual cost of living increases.
Sick Leave Benefits
Starting July 1, 2017, all Arizona employers must provide a sick leave benefit for their employees. As of July 1, 2017, employees earn at least 1 hour of sick time for each 30 hours worked. Employees in companies with fewer than 15 employees are not entitled to accrue or use more than 24 hours of sick time each year and employees in companies with 15 or more employees are not entitled to accrue or use more than 40 hours of sick time each year.
Sick leave can be rolled over into future years but there is no requirement to pay an employee for sick leave when they leave their employment. There are strict penalties for failure to comply or for discriminating against an employee for attempting to exercise their rights. Employers in every industry should evaluate their benefits packages and employee manuals to make sure they are in compliance.
One other highlight: Employers cannot require employees to make arrangements with other employees to cover their shift for sick leave.
For further information about these new laws or other business law issues, please contact our attorneys (Pat Durazzo, Neal Eckel or Eric Hawkins) at 520-792-0448 or firstname.lastname@example.org. Our attorneys work in the fields of business law, employment law, construction law and corporate law, and are available to assist your business. The State of Arizona provides some guidance and notice posters (which employers are required to post) at the Industrial Commission website located here.